Powerless Security

I found this report both concerning, and comical.  Forgive me, I realize neither computer theft nor data theft are laughing matters, but bear with me…  A laptop computer containing “a fair amount of records” was stolen and an on-board camera was damaged while a ploice cruiser was left at an auto dealership for service in New Hampshire.

The theft and damage to the “brand new” cruiser occurred when the crusier was parked overnight at a Chevrolet dealership, left for work on decorative trim.  The police chief said he’s been advised that it’s unlikely anyone could access personal information stored on the stolen laptop because the battery is so old it barely functions without a companion power cord How is that for a protective strategy?  I hope anyone that chided me for giggling understands now.  What would stop a thief from simply hitting up a used parts distributor for a battery or power supply?  I’ll bet there are refurbs at Tiger Direct.  The data that can be expected to be on this laptop is probably quite valuable to the criminal element compared to the cost of a laptop battery.  There are also convertors that allow one to connect laptop interfaces to standard IDE or even USB connections…

Mike Jones, manager of the dealer’s auto body department, said he was expecting a police officer to pick up the cruiser after hours which is why it was left outside overnight.  He said if he knew it wasn’t going to be picked up, the cruiser would have been brought inside.  “We thought someone was coming to get it,” he said. “With a phone call we would’ve taken care of it.  Obviously we don’t want any thefts here.”  So…  Why didn’t Mike just make a phone call to confirm?  Last time I checked, my phone worked both ways…

SeaCoastOnline

