Know When To Fold ‘Em

Baseline is one of my favorite reads.  I subscribe to their hardcopy magazine as well as their RSS feeds.  Here is a slideshow that provides some good food for thought about pulling the plug on projects, employees, and employers.  Sometimes getting out from under a bad situation is the best thing that can happen for you and for the company.

Your strategy and the company direction may not be compatible, there may be serious breakdowns in communication, attempts to make improvements may be misunderstood or viewed politically, or there just may be a poor fit.  It’s important to be able to sever ties while still maintaining good will.

In Necessary Endings: The Employees, Businesses, and Relationships That All of Us Have to Give Up in Order to Move Forward (HarperBusiness), author Henry Cloud contends that employees aren’t failing when they seek to bring a stop to something.  Workers actually do themselves a disservice by remaining with visionless leaders, hostile or non-productive work environments, and career dead-ends.  The key, says Cloud, is knowing how to part ways without conveying negativity to those you’re leaving behind.

I will be adding this book to my reading list shortly.  Not because I haven’t done this in the past, but because this is something that I believe in, there is always room for improvement, and I like what I have read so far.

